Crysis 2 Demo

On march first EA released a multiplayer demo game, Crysis 2. It has been a while that us PC users actually got a chance to try out a demo from a major game manufacturer like EA, let alone having a multiplayer demo at that. I like many other PC gamers, just had to download this highly anticipated game title and see what the fuss was all about, and if the hype was worth the wait including the set backs we gamers faced with this game title.

This is running Crysis 2 Demo @ 5760 x 1080 resolution

The Graphics of Crysis 2 are top notch, it also has the same play style as the original Crysis we gamers fell in love with, the ability of cloaking, speed, strength, and armor enhancements. The short time I played this game online I quickly realized this is a fast paced, adrenalin pumping, ass kicking, no room for error game.

Running Crysis 2 demo @ 1920 x 1080

As far as performance currently with Crysis 2, I started out playing this game title with my 2 AMD 6970 video cards in Crossfire with Eyefinity enabled while using a Hardcore preset turned on in the graphic menu. The frame rates were less then desirable, the frame rates I was getting were in the teens to low 20’s (Keep in mind the resolution I am playing at with Eyefinity is 5760 x 1080). So I decided to drop down to a normal single screen resolution of 1920 x 1080 then I checked out my frames rates while using the same preset of Hardcore, my frame rates increased to a comfortable rate of 45-57 FPS. I decided to try and play Crysis 2 with AMD Crossfire turned off and see how my frame rates would be, now this where things got a bit weird. My frame rates while running a Hardcore preset with a resolution of 1920 x 1080 I was in the 75-88 range. So I turned off Crysis 2 and restarted it up again, and again my frame rates were the same. So I went into the menu options and set the resolution from 1920 x 1080 to a staggering 5760 x 1080 and see how things would fair while using a Hardcore preset, well low and behold that frame rate increased from teens to a enjoyable 38-49 FPS.  It is not unusual to see frame rates be lower when multi GPU’s are enabled (Crossfire or SLI) normally this problem can be fixed with a game patch or a diver update. The good news for all of us Eyefinity fanatics is that this game is still playable even under the most extreme resolutions, unlike its predecessor Crysis and Crysis Warhead.

Leave a Reply

