Brink

With a game being released every month this year, I could not have waited to see what else was coming around the corner to us gamers to play. I particularly been paying close attention to Brink, I been watching the game trailers, and waiting impatiently for this game to finally hit the shelves, so I can throw it on my computer and start playing it.

Playing games like Portal 2, Dragons Age 2, Crysis 2, Medal of Honor, and finally Dead Space 2 I had some rather high hopes for Brink. No sooner than I started this game, I wanted it off of my computer. Brink proved to be a complete and total nightmare. I would rather endure pain and suffering on the XBox360 and play Halo 3 on a controller; then, actually sit down and play one more minute of Brink. I am not going to lie to any of you, I am not a console player never have been, and never will be a console player. Not to mention I think the entire Halo series is not much better than Call of Duty Black Ops.

Storyline

I could not sit down and play Brink long enough to find out the story line, so I cannot tell you what it is all about. I got bored with this game fairly quickly because of major issues I was having with this game kept me from actually being able to enjoy this game title.

Graphics & Performance

When I watched the game trailer of Brink, I was absolutely flabbergasted of the graphics that Bethesda Softworks used for this game title. Like may other gamers, I expected to see stunning realism of people, buildings, and weaponry. But what did I see? Something much, much worse than what was portrayed in the game trailer. I call it something between Halo 2 and Call of Duty, and most of us all know the Halo 2 for the PC looked like absolute shit. Not having anything worth looking at with the graphic side of things, the performance was not much better. Brink is a prime example of a ported game from XBox 360 (I do not mean it in a nice way either) to a PC; it skips, studders, stumbles, and stops during game play. And this is playing the game using a low resolution of 1920 x 1080, I mean come on. Brink does not accept or utilize multi-monitor gaming period, the only maximum resolution I had available was 1920 x 1080. I even tried adjusting the visual details of this game to the lowest setting and use a crappy resolution of 1600 x 900, and Brink still refused to play smoothly. Now before and of you console users laugh, keep this in mind. My computer is far from tiny, it totes the mighty Core i7 970 Intel Hex core CPU @ 4.3 GHz, paired up with 2 6970’s in crossfire, with 3 24″ 1920 x 1080 monitors giving me a combined resolution of 5760 x 1080. So my computer is more than capable of playing this game even on its off day. Reconfirming that Brink is definitely a ported game. Oh I should mention that Crossfire does not even work on Brink, I even tried turning off Crossfire to see if “Maybe it was because of my Crossfired video cards causing my performance issues”. Nope, this game still played like complete and total SHIT!!!!

The Wrap Up

Being plagued with performance issues, and bad graphics I have nothing nice to even say about this game title. As your mother always told us as we were kids, if you ain’t got nothing nice to say; then, don’t say anything at all. Well I have one thing to say about Brink, and nothing comes to mind.

I give Brink, the lowest score I have ever gave on a review a:

1 out of 10 and the

Nothing Award

Leave a Reply

